Provinces of China

Provinces of China
Provinces of China

China has 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities, and 2 special administrative regions. Here is a list of the 23 provinces:

Provinces in China

  1. Anhui
  2. Fujian
  3. Gansu
  4. Guangdong
  5. Guizhou
  6. Hainan
  7. Hebei
  8. Heilongjiang
  9. Henan
  10. Hubei
  11. Hunan
  12. Jiangsu
  13. Jiangxi
  14. Jilin
  15. Liaoning
  16. Qinghai
  17. Shaanxi
  18. Shandong
  19. Shanxi
  20. Sichuan
  21. Yunnan
  22. Zhejiang
  23. Taiwan (claimed by China)

Please note that Hong Kong and Macau are both special administrative regions of China and are not included in this list of provinces.

5 autonomous regions

here are the 5 autonomous regions of China:

  1. Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
  2. Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region
  3. Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
  4. Tibet Autonomous Region
  5. Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region

Each of these regions has a significant population of ethnic minorities, and they are granted a certain degree of autonomy in terms of local governance and cultural affairs.

4 municipalities

4 municipalities of China:

  1. Beijing
  2. Shanghai
  3. Tianjin
  4. Chongqing

Municipalities in China are equivalent to provinces in terms of administrative level, but they are usually more urbanized and have a higher degree of autonomy in terms of local governance and economic development.

2 special administrative regions

The two special administrative regions of China are:

  1. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR)
  2. Macau Special Administrative Region (SAR)

Both Hong Kong and Macau were former colonies of European powers before they were returned to China. They have a high degree of autonomy in terms of local governance, and legal and economic systems, and are governed under the principle of “one country, two systems”.

The capital city of each province in China is as follows:

  • Anhui: Hefei
  • Fujian: Fuzhou
  • Gansu: Lanzhou
  • Guangdong: Guangzhou
  • Guizhou: Guiyang
  • Hainan: Haikou
  • Hebei: Shijiazhuang
  • Heilongjiang: Harbin
  • Henan: Zhengzhou
  • Hubei: Wuhan
  • Hunan: Changsha
  • Jiangsu: Nanjing
  • Jiangxi: Nanchang
  • Jilin: Changchun
  • Liaoning: Shenyang
  • Qinghai: Xining
  • Shaanxi: Xi’an
  • Shandong: Jinan
  • Shanxi: Taiyuan
  • Sichuan: Chengdu
  • Yunnan: Kunming
  • Zhejiang: Hangzhou
  • Taiwan (claimed by China): Taipei

Similar Articles

Frequently Asked Questions About Provinces of China

Q. How many provinces are there in China?

A – China has 23 provinces.

Q. What are the largest provinces in China?

A – The largest provinces in China in terms of land area are Xinjiang, Tibet, and Qinghai. In terms of population, the largest provinces are Guangdong, Shandong, and Henan.

Q. What is the difference between a province and a municipality in China?

A – Both provinces and municipalities are administrative divisions in China, but municipalities have a higher level of autonomy and are usually more urbanized than provinces. Provinces are also usually larger in terms of land area.

Q. What is an autonomous region in China?

A – An autonomous region is an administrative division in China that has a significant population of ethnic minorities. These regions are granted a certain degree of autonomy in terms of local governance and cultural affairs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post
Ramnagar Fort

Ramnagar Fort – Timeless Heritage Site

Next Post

Anhui: Exploring the Wonders

Related Posts